Jason Meyers Captures $50,000 Gold Cup
Written by Zach Davis   
Sunday, 12 September 2010 08:10

jason-meyersJason Meyers scored the biggest win of his World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series career Saturday night, claiming victory in the 57th Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions at Silver Dollar Speedway. The Clovis, California native earned $50,000 for the win.



“To win the Gold Cup is absolutely awesome,” said Meyers. “To be on the list of drivers that have won this prestigious race over the years is pretty incredible. Growing up out here, I won my first ever sprint car race at this race track in the Mini Gold Cup. We finally have the Gold Cup. This is amazing. This entire team is doing a fantastic job. We are having fun right now and winning races and that’s what it’s all about. I can’t say enough about this team and am excited for what we are capable of the rest of the year.”


Meyers started from the pole and held off challenges from Paul McMahan to lead the 40-lap event from flag to flag.


Steve Kinser, who started 18th in the 24-car field, finished second.


“It was a good run,” said Kinser. “This place over the years, I have either been really good here or had a tough time like the other night. We were leading and broke the wheel and had to battle back from there. To come from where we did to finish second, you can’t complain. I just couldn’t quite get up there enough to get a run on him.”


Paul McMahan was disappointed with his third-place effort.


“To have two straight podium finishes and three Top-10 finishes in three nights is great, but this one hurts,” admitted McMahan. “This is home and I have been coming to this race since 1978 and it’s one of those races I really want to win. To be that close and have that good of a race car really hurts.”


Jac Haudenschild and Friday night winner Donny Schatz rounded out the top-five.


Joey Saldana leaves California with a two point lead over Jason Meyers in the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series championship standings.


The next stop on the 2010 World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series schedule is Friday, September 17 at Clay County Fair Speedway in Spencer, Iowa.


World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series Results Saturday, September 11, 2010
A-main (40 laps) - Starting Position [#]
1) 14-Jason Meyers[1] [$50,000]
2) 11-Steve Kinser[18] [$20,000]
3) 91-Paul McMahan[3] [$8,500]
4) R19-Jac Haudenschild[15] [$4,700]
5) 15-Donny Schatz[6] [$4,000]
6) 99-Kyle Larson[10] [$3,200]
7) 9-Joey Saldana[7] [$3,000]
8) 29-Bud Kaeding[20] [$2,500]
9) O-Jonathan Allard[4] [$2,200]
10) 1-Sammy Swindell[8] [$2,100]
11) 7S-Jason Sides[2] [$2,025]
12) 69-Brent Kaeding[17] [$2,000]
13) 121-Shane Golobic[11] [$1,500]
14) 33E-Evan Suggs[13] [$1,400]
15) 94-Zach Zimmerly[22] [$1,200]
16) 11K-Kraig Kinser[16] [$1,100]
17) 7-Craig Dollansky[19] [$1,050]
18) 25M-Bobby McMahan[23] [$1,000]
19) 6-Danny Lasoski[14] [$1,000]
20) 82-Robbie Whitchurch[24] [$1,000]
21) 21-Tommy Tarlton[21] [$1,000]
22) 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr.[9] [$1,000]
23) 49-Brad Sweet[12] [$1,000]
24) 3-Kerry Madsen[5] [$1,000]


Lap Leaders: Jason Meyers 1-40
KSE Hard Charger Award: Steve Kinser
Penske Power Position Award: Robbie Whitchurch


 hardcore-race-fansMORE WORLD OF OUTLAWS NEWS