Vickers Wins NASCAR Loudon Race; Results
Monday, 15 July 2013 03:54

Brian Vickers had just enough fuel to win Sunday’s 301-lap NASCAR Sprint Cup race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway and break a 75-race winless streak.

Vickers led the final 13 laps after passing Tony Stewart then held off Kyle Busch to capture his third career Sprint Cup victory.

"It wasn't until the end, when we started running down the 18 (Kyle Busch) and the 14 (Tony Stewart), that I felt we had a car capable of winning, and then I was hungry,” said Vickers. “It was fun racing for the win."

Stewart ran out of gas and ended 26th.

“I mean, it’s hard to calculate how much we are saving on the cautions so thought we were about three quarters of a lap to the good there before that last caution,” Stewart said. “Obviously didn’t get saved as much as I thought we would.”

Kyle Busch finished second, followed by Jeff Burton, Brad Keselowski and Aric Almirola.

Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth and Jeff Gordon completed the top-10.

A total of 15 cars were involved in accidents that brought out the caution flag 12 times for 58 laps.

Danica Patrick spun out after contact with A.J. Allmendinger on lap 218 then wrecked with boyfriend Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 21 laps later. Both went to the garage with Stenhouse, Jr. credited with 34th and Patrick 37th.

Morgan Shepherd, 71, is the oldest driver to start a Sprint Cup race. He exited on lap 92 with an ill-handling car, finishing 41st.

Johnson extended his point lead to 56 over Clint Bowyer with Carl Edwards 73 back in third as the series prepares to head to Indianapolis Motor Speedway July 28th.

Camping World RV Sales 301 NASCAR Results

1. Brian Vickers
2. Kyle Busch
3. Jeff Burton
4. Brad Keselowski
5. Aric Almirola
6. Jimmie Johnson
7. Kevin Harvick
8. Carl Edwards
9. Matt Kenseth
10.Jeff Gordon
11.Kasey Kahne
12.Jamie McMurray
13.Clint Bowyer
14.Dale Earnhardt,. Jr.
15.Greg Biffle
16.Martin Truex, Jr.
17.Paul Menard
18.David Gilliland
19.David Ragan
20.David Stremme
21.Denny Hamlin
22.A .J. Allmendinger
23.Dave Blaney
24.Juan Pablo Montoya
25.Joe Nemechek
26.Tony Stewart
27.Bobby Labonte
28.David Reutimann
29.J.J. Yeley
30.Ken Schrader
31.Kurt Busch
32.Landon Cassill
33.Marcos Ambrose
34.Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
35.Josh Wise
36.Casey Mears
37.Danica Patrick
38.Travis Kvapil
39.Ryan Newman
40.Joey Logano
41.Morgan Shepherd
42.Michael McDowell
43.Mike Bliss